Forum Discussion

santoshmashetti
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Jun 23, 2023

write an irule to route (not re-direct) the traffic to an URI instead of a pool.

Hi all,

I am new to F5, I need some guidance in the following situation:

In our scenario, currently we are forwarding the F5 traffic to an pool based on certain logic.
i.e pool pool_name.

In the new scenario, we have been asked to send the traffic to an URL for eg: "http://example.apps.clossc01.syst.cloud.example.com". they have been told that we have to use this URL only and we should not simply hardcode its ip. The reason is this NGNIX service is running in a openshift platform.  kindly share some solutions to route the F5 traffic to this url for further request analysis and it is not a re-direct.

1. can we able to resolve this url and get the node? if yes please share some code.

2. if there are any other way to acheive this please guide.

5 Replies

• Hi santoshmashetti ,

If I understood you , you need use FQDN/host names in pool members instead of Ips.

It's applicable , configure your bigip DNS properly ( System >>> Configuration >>> Device >> DNS )
    and configure the pool members with their correct FQDNs.

I think you mean another thing , Correct ?!

• I see a reference to the "pool pool_name" command, is your current scenario irule-based?

To process an iRule rewrite of this kind, you need to consider a couple things. First and foremost, you still require the basic information to craft the packet: server IP and server port. 
    You don't "have" to have it bound it into a pool object, but it's usually the nicer option. As Mohamed said, if the resource has a dynamic IP you can use a FQDN object and configure DNS resolution so it will always stay up-to-date. Keep in mind that this will still only be a "node" object - meaning: only server IP address is being considered.