Forum Discussion

jlsantini
Icon for Altostratus rankAltostratus
May 09, 2024
Solved

Reliable resources for identifying IP addresses

Hello!

I'm a project manager responsible for the WAF implementation in my organization.  Aside from overseeing the implementation, I'm in the trenches, so to speak, with the everyday care and feeding of WAF which is likely unusual for a project manager.  😃

Our systems administrators have setup our WAF logs so that they are logged in Splunk and Oracle.  I have created numerous reports, dashboards, and alerts that Splunk uses against a lookup table that I built to identify the IP address owners. This manually built and maintained by myself in Excel and was started with IP records provided by two of our business owners for educational institutions that use their services.  The Excel spreadsheet is over 100K lines and I lookup IPs using ARIN as part of growing this IP table.  This is cumbersome to say the least.

My manager wants to move more of our WAF reporting to an Apex tool that one of our application developers built.  This renders my Splunk lookup table useless. What resources are others in the community using to identify IP addresses?  The application developer responsible for the Apex application would like something available via API.

I began the effort to identify IP addresses to help with our tuning and remediation efforts.  We look more kindly upon infractions from an educational institutions than traffic from a bot source.  We will do post production tuning against a policy if one of our business owners reports a block on behalf of an end user. The IP identification helps with this process.  Our WAF administrator is extremely cautious which I respect because we need to protect our infrastructure but our processes for remediation and tuning are quite tedious.  

Thank you in advance for any resources you can provide!

Jodi

• Hi @jlsantini,